Two names, one question, and most of the people asking it have already paid a credit-repair company for months and watched their report stay exactly where it was. That history is worth pricing before anyone reads a feature list.

One of these is software you operate for $49.99 a month, with every letter on screen before you sign it. The other is a firm you hire at $99 to $119 a month that works your file while you watch a dashboard, and whether you want the work done for you or done with you is what those two price tags are really asking.

The Short Answer

Choose CreditRefresh if you want to run the disputes yourself, see and sign every letter, and pay a flat $49.99 a month with no setup fee and no contract.

Choose The Credit People if you want a phone-guided, done-for-you service that works your case without you drafting anything, and you are comfortable paying $99 to $119 a month for that.

One mix-up to clear first. Lowercase, a “credit refresh” is also the name lenders use for the soft pull run shortly before a mortgage closes to confirm no new debt has appeared; if that is what you came for, read what is a rapid rescore. CreditRefresh, the product, is an AI credit-dispute tool from Credit Refresh LLC that reads all three bureau reports, flags items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to report, and drafts an FCRA dispute letter for each one. The Credit People is a credit-repair company of 15-plus years that works all three bureaus on your behalf after a free phone evaluation.

Who Needs a Credit Dispute Tool at All

You need one when your report carries items you believe are wrong and you have more of them than you want to handle by hand. The FTC’s accuracy study found that 1 in 5 consumers had an error on at least one of their three credit reports, and that 5% had an error serious enough to raise the price they pay for credit. That is the cost people feel first: a worse rate on a car loan, a declined rental application, a mortgage that stalls months after the damage was done.

The volume is usually the surprise. According to CreditRefresh’s September 18, 2026 analysis of paying-member data, 97.7% of paying members have at least one negative tradeline entry, and the average member carries 30 across the bureaus, with a median of 25. Those are bureau-level entries across three reports, so the same account can appear more than once, and a negative entry is not automatically inaccurate or disputable.

Both products are built for that pile. Every Credit People tier includes all three bureaus and unlimited challenges, per their published plans. CreditRefresh scans all three and drafts per item. As Kelly K. put it in a 5-star review on September 23, 2026: “I loved how simple it was, it took me like 5 minutes to use. Super helpful scanning my report for mistakes!”

Why Use Either One Instead of Writing the Letters Yourself

Because the right is free and the labor is not. The FCRA has given consumers the right to dispute credit-report errors since 1970. Nobody charges you to exercise it. What people pay for is reading three reports line by line, deciding which of the four dispute categories each item falls under, drafting a letter per item, mailing them, and tracking the roughly 30-day investigation window on each.

The scale of that job shows up in the numbers. CreditRefresh mailed rounds average 23.6 disputed bureau-level items. And 35.1% of members already have at least one negative entry the bureau has marked as disputed by the consumer, which tells you follow-up is its own separate chore; the notation does not say who filed it, when, or how it ended.

So the real split is who does the labor. The Credit People does it for you and reports progress through a 24/7 dashboard with monthly report refreshes. CreditRefresh does the drafting and the tracking, then hands you the letters to approve.

What to Look For in Any Credit Dispute Tool

  • What the price actually includes. CreditRefresh: $49.99 a month covering Refresh Monitoring and the dispute tool, no setup fee, no per-dispute charge, no contract. The Credit People: $99 a month Standard, $119 a month Premium, or $599 for 6 months flat, captured from their pricing page on September 15, 2026, billed pay as you go.
  • Whether you see every letter. CreditRefresh shows each draft and requires your review and signature before anything is mailed. With The Credit People the service is done for you, and you do not see or approve the individual letters.
  • All three bureaus. Both work Equifax, Experian and TransUnion. Any tool that touches one bureau leaves two reports untouched.
  • Letters specific to each item. CreditRefresh drafts a tailored letter per flagged item and cites the FCRA right it stands on. The Credit People includes unlimited challenges plus creditor interventions and escalated disputes in every tier.
  • Tracking against the deadline. CreditRefresh records each letter and the date it went out and tracks responses against the roughly 30-day window. The Credit People gives you a progress dashboard and monthly refreshes.
  • The contract. CreditRefresh has none; cancel anytime. The Credit People publishes pay-as-you-go billing.
  • What users say. Covered next, with the numbers attached.

What Goes Wrong, in Users’ Words and the Public Record

The complaint that recurs across this whole category is paying month after month while nothing on the report changes. For The Credit People, Trustpilot shows 1.7 from 17 reviews as published on September 24, 2026, all of them at one star; 11 of the 17 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 17 come down to paying for months with nothing changing, 4 of 17 to a promised result that did not happen, and 2 of 17 to disputes that only reached part of the file. KAY 🙂 wrote in a 1-star review on July 9, 2021:

“it’s been 6 months of giving the credit people my money monthly at $79 a month to raise my credit score , instead of my credit getting better over the months it got worse like terrible”

It is not one company. Lexington Law sits at 3.2 from 624 reviews, with 79 of the 134 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 200 saying they paid for months and nothing changed. Credit Saint is 3.6 from 764, with 36 of 57 on the same theme. Dispute Beast is 4.2 from 2,067, with 19 of 33. Credit Karma is 1.1 from 912, where the most common complaint is a promised result that did not happen, 43 of 197. CreditRefresh is 4.3 from 9 reviews, 0% at one star, all as published on September 24, 2026.

The regulator’s file reads the same way. Over the three years to September 10, 2026, there were 4,217 complaints under the sub-product “Credit repair services” recorded in the CFPB’s public Consumer Complaint Database, of which 2,786 name a firm; among those, the leading issues are “Didn’t provide services promised” at 871, or 31.3%, and “Charged upfront or unexpected fees” at 727, or 26.1%. Charging upfront is the practice CROA bars outright. Complaints are unverified consumer allegations and a high count tracks company size as well as conduct.

Enforcement has followed the same conduct. On August 28, 2023 the CFPB reached a $2.7 billion settlement with Progrexion Marketing and PGX Holdings, the operators of Lexington Law and CreditRepair.com, over illegal advance fees for telemarketed credit repair and deceptive bait-and-switch advertising; on December 5, 2024 the CFPB announced $1.8 billion returned to consumers harmed in that scheme. The FTC finalized a $3 million order against Credit Karma on January 23, 2023 over dark patterns misrepresenting pre-approval. On September 30, 2024 the CFPB acted against Commonwealth Equity Group, d/b/a Key Credit Repair, for $41.3 million over advance fees and misrepresented removal ability, and on August 10, 2026 the FTC stopped a $200 million scheme run by Credit Glory LLC. None of these actions names The Credit People.

Choose CreditRefresh or The Credit People

Choose CreditRefresh if you want…Choose The Credit People if you want…
To read and sign every letter before it is mailedSomeone else to work the file while you watch a dashboard
A flat $49.99 a month, no setup fee, cancel anytimeA phone evaluation and a managed case at $99 to $119 a month
To start in minutes with no sales call and nothing to learnTo talk to a person before anything begins
Mailing in your hands, free yourself or per letter through RushMailCreditor interventions and escalated disputes handled for you

CreditRefresh at a Glance

  • Price: $49.99 a month for Refresh Monitoring, which includes the dispute tool.
  • What it does: scans all three bureau reports, flags items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to report, and drafts an FCRA letter per item.
  • Your control: you review and sign every letter; nothing is sent without approval.
  • Bureaus: Equifax, Experian and TransUnion.
  • Mailing: mail the round yourself at no extra cost, or hand it to RushMail for a small per-letter fee.
  • Tracking: every letter and send date recorded, responses tracked against the roughly 30-day window.
  • Extras: a debt-collector directory built on CFPB complaint data, a 117-article help center, and an AI assistant that cites the FCRA.
  • Contract: none. No setup fee, no per-dispute charge, cancel anytime. A 100% money-back guarantee for members who work the full program.
  • Trustpilot: 4.3 from 9 reviews, as published September 24, 2026.

The Credit People at a Glance

  • Price: Standard $99 a month, Premium $119 a month, or a Premium Flat Rate of $599 for 6 months, from their pricing page captured September 15, 2026.
  • What it does: a done-for-you credit-repair service of 15-plus years that works your file on your behalf.
  • Your control: the firm handles the disputes; individual letters are not shown to you for approval.
  • Bureaus: all three, on every tier.
  • Mailing: handled by the firm.
  • Tracking: a 24/7 online progress dashboard and monthly report refreshes.
  • Extras: unlimited challenges, creditor interventions, and escalated disputes and validations on every tier.
  • Contract: billed pay as you go, per their pricing page.
  • Trustpilot: 1.7 from 17 reviews, as published September 24, 2026.

How CreditRefresh and The Credit People Compare

CreditRefreshThe Credit People
Monthly cost✅ $49.99 flat❌ $99 to $119
Setup fee✅ NoneNot stated
Contract✅ None, cancel anytime✅ Pay as you go
You review and sign every letter✅❌ Letters not shown for approval
Self-serve, no sales call to start✅❌ Free phone evaluation first
Letters cite the specific FCRA basis per item✅Not stated
You choose how each round is mailed✅ Yourself free, or RushMail per letter❌ Handled by the firm
Money-back guarantee on program payments✅Not stated
A person works your case for you❌ You run the rounds✅
Creditor interventions and escalated disputesNot stated✅ Included on every tier
All three bureaus✅✅

CreditRefresh details come from our own product and pricing pages. The Credit People details come from their published pricing and service pages, captured September 15, 2026. Trustpilot figures are as published on September 24, 2026.

Pros and Cons

CreditRefresh

  • Pro, fast to start: no onboarding call and nothing to learn. Rory D., 5 stars, September 20, 2026: “Quick and easy . Very efficient way to dispute errors on credit report . Found errors that I was unaware of in a very short time”
  • Pro, support that answers: Jean L., 5 stars, August 24, 2026: “The response time to my questions were very rapid and filled with complete/specific detailed instructions (not coined nor ”auto-reply“).”
  • Pro, transparent by design: every draft is shown, signed and logged with its send date before it goes anywhere.
  • Con, short track record: launched in 2026 with roughly 100 subscribers.
  • Con, the second round is the weak spot: the follow-up round after 30-plus days is not yet well guided, and our founder names it as the current gap.
  • Con, not for every file: it does nothing for a thin or empty credit file, an already-strong score, or debts that are accurate.
  • Trustpilot 4.3 from 9 reviews, as published September 24, 2026.

The Credit People

  • Pro, genuinely hands-off: 15-plus years of doing the work for you, after one free phone evaluation.
  • Pro, everything in every tier: all three bureaus, unlimited challenges, monthly report refreshes, creditor interventions, escalated disputes and validations.
  • Pro, the rate card is published: Standard, Premium and the 6-month flat rate all appear on their pricing page.
  • Con, paying for months with nothing changing is the leading complaint: 11 of the 17 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 17, with a further 4 of 17 describing a promised result that did not happen.
  • Con, reaching support: 2 of the 17 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 17 are about communication. Jayme F., 1 star, April 12, 2024: “Their customer service online and over the phone is beyond rude.”
  • Con, you do not see the letters: the individual disputes are not put in front of you to approve.
  • Trustpilot 1.7 from 17 reviews, as published September 24, 2026.

Pricing

CreditRefresh

  • Refresh Monitoring, $49.99 a month: includes the CreditRefresh dispute tool and three-bureau monitoring, with credit data supplied by Array.
  • Setup fee: none. Per-dispute charge: none. Contract: none.
  • RushMail: optional, a small per-letter fee when you hand a round to the affiliated mailing partner instead of mailing it yourself.
  • Guarantee: members who work the full program and see no bureau score rise above enrollment can reclaim 100% of their Refresh Monitoring payments, typically $650 to $700. RushMail fees are billed separately and are not refunded.

The Credit People, from their pricing page captured September 15, 2026

  • Standard: $99 a month.
  • Premium: $119 a month.
  • Premium Flat Rate: $599 for 6 months.
  • Billing: pay as you go, per their published terms.

Verdict by Situation

  • You have 20-plus questionable entries across three reports and a limited budget: CreditRefresh. The flat $49.99 covers the whole round regardless of item count.
  • You will not read a letter under any circumstances and want a phone number: The Credit People.
  • You have been burned by a monthly retainer before: CreditRefresh, because you can see each letter and cancel the month you stop finding value.
  • You want creditor interventions handled for you: The Credit People includes them on every tier.
  • You are preparing a mortgage or auto application and want every bureau worked: either one covers all three; the difference is whether you sign the letters.

How to Decide

  1. Do you want to read the letters going out in your name? If yes, CreditRefresh. If the answer is that you would rather not, The Credit People.
  2. What is the monthly number you can carry for as long as rounds are running? At $49.99, CreditRefresh. At $99 to $119, The Credit People.
  3. What went wrong the last time? If you paid a retainer and could never tell what was done, take the option that shows you each dispute and its send date, which is CreditRefresh. If you tried doing it by hand and gave up in week two, hiring it out is the honest answer.

Skip the paperwork. Start your dispute.

CreditRefresh drafts your FCRA dispute letter and tracks the 30-day investigation window. You review, approve, and send. You stay in control.

Get Started

That is the done-for-you versus done-with-you question the two prices were asking all along. The bureaus decide dispute outcomes either way, and neither product can change that. What you are choosing is who writes the letters and who watches the calendar.

The Six Tools People Compare When Deciding Whether to Hire the Disputes Out

The choice turns on two things: what you pay every month while rounds are running, and whether anyone shows you the letters. Here is how the six most-compared options price that trade.

ToolWhat you payWhat that buysBureausTrustpilot
CreditRefresh$49.99/mo, no setup fee, cancel anytime. Mail letters yourself free, or pay RushMail per letterAI scan of all three reports, a drafted FCRA letter per flagged item, and your signature required before anything is mailedAll three4.3 (9 reviews)
Dispute BeastFrom $49.99/mo for required monitoring. Mail letters yourself free, or pay Sprint Mail per letterAI-generated dispute letters, with monitoring bundled as a condition of useAll three4.2 (2,067 reviews)
DisputeBee$49/mo personal, $129/mo businessDispute software built for people willing to learn the workflow, plus an agency tierAll three3.2 (68 reviews)
The Credit People$99/mo standard, $119/mo premium, or $599 for 6 monthsA done-for-you case worked by the firm, with a progress dashboard in place of the lettersAll three1.7 (17 reviews)
Lexington Law$139.95/mo, invoiced at the end of each service periodAttorney-branded done-for-you repair from the operator of the 2023 CFPB settlementAll three3.2 (624 reviews)
Credit KarmaFree, paid for by lender referralsMonitoring and offers, with disputes reaching one bureau onlyTransUnion1.1 (912 reviews)

Every price is that company’s own published rate, read off that company’s own site on September 15, 2026. Trustpilot scores and review counts as published on September 24, 2026.

How CreditRefresh Turns a Monthly Retainer Into a Round You Sign Yourself

The complaint that runs through this comparison is paying for months without seeing what was done. Here is what we can see. In CreditRefresh’s September 18, 2026 member-data extract, 2.3% of disputed bureau-level items in mailed rounds had a recorded outcome; within that subset, 47.9% were no longer reported on a newer pull of the same bureau, while 52.1% remained reported with a changed balance, status or negative flag. That is what follow-up monitoring observed after a mailed dispute, on the same bureau’s later pull.

The workflow behind it is three steps. Subscribe to Refresh Monitoring at $49.99 a month, let the AI scan all three reports and flag items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to report, then review and sign the drafted letters and mail them yourself or through RushMail. Every letter is logged with its send date and tracked against the roughly 30-day investigation window, so the question of what was done this month has an answer you can read.

We will say what the tool does not do. It cannot remove accurate information, it cannot promise a score outcome, and the bureaus decide every dispute. The second round after 30-plus days is the part of our flow that needs the most work, and we would rather name it than let you discover it. Members who work the full program and see no bureau score rise above enrollment can reclaim 100% of their Refresh Monitoring payments.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is CreditRefresh the soft pull my mortgage lender runs before closing?

No. Lenders use “credit refresh” for their own pre-closing check on new debt and debt-to-income. CreditRefresh is dispute software from Credit Refresh LLC that you operate yourself, and no lender is involved.

How much does The Credit People cost?

Standard is $99 a month, Premium is $119 a month, and a Premium Flat Rate is $599 for 6 months, from their pricing page captured on September 15, 2026. Every tier is billed pay as you go per their published terms.

Can I dispute credit-report errors myself for free?

Yes. The FCRA has given you that right since 1970 and no company can charge you for the right itself. What you pay either of these companies for is the work of identifying items, drafting per-item letters, mailing, and tracking the roughly 30-day window.

Does either one show me the letters before they go out?

CreditRefresh requires your review and signature on every letter before it is mailed. The Credit People works the file for you and does not put the individual letters in front of you to approve.

Can either company guarantee an item comes off my report?

Neither can, and no credit-repair company legally may. The bureaus decide each dispute, accurate information stays on the report until it ages off, and your score depends on the rest of your file.

CreditRefresh is software, not a law firm and not a credit-repair agency acting on your behalf. Trustpilot figures are as published on the dates given. CFPB complaint counts are unverified consumer allegations recorded in the CFPB’s public Consumer Complaint Database and do not establish wrongdoing. Enforcement actions are described as the agency’s own findings or allegations on the dates stated.

CreditRefresh scans all three bureau reports, drafts an FCRA dispute letter for each item you choose to challenge, and puts every one of them in front of you to sign before it is mailed.

Run your first dispute round yourself, for $49.99 a month →