Search for a comparison of these two and you will likely be told that Lexington Law is gone, shut down by the CFPB, no longer taking clients. That is wrong. Lexington Law is open, taking clients, and charging $139.95 a month, invoiced at the end of each service period for completed work, per its own FAQ page read on September 15, 2026.
So the choice in front of you is a real one. A law firm disputes your credit report on your behalf for $139.95 a month, or software scans your three reports, drafts the letters, and hands them to you to sign for $49.99.
The Short Answer
Choose CreditRefresh if you want to see every dispute letter, sign it yourself, and pay a flat $49.99 a month with no setup fee, no per-dispute charge and no contract.
Choose Lexington Law if you want a law firm and its paralegals to work the file for you, and you are comfortable paying $139.95 a month without seeing the letters that go out.
Both challenge items with all three bureaus. CreditRefresh is software from Credit Refresh LLC, included with Refresh Monitoring at $49.99 a month, that reads your Equifax, Experian and TransUnion reports, flags items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to be legally reported, and drafts an FCRA dispute letter for each one you choose to challenge. Lexington Law is an attorney-backed firm that challenges items for you after a free assessment and attorney case setup. The first thing to clear up is whether it still exists.
What Actually Happened to Lexington Law
The enforcement history is real, dated, and public record.
- The 2019 case. On May 2, 2019, the CFPB brought an action against PGX Holdings, Inc. and Progrexion Marketing, Inc., the parent companies behind Lexington Law and CreditRepair.com, alleging they requested and received prohibited upfront fees for telemarketed credit repair services in violation of the Telemarketing Sales Rule, along with deceptive bait-and-switch marketing.
- The settlement. On August 28, 2023, the CFPB announced a $2.7 billion settlement with the same conglomerate over collecting illegal advance fees and deceptive bait-and-switch advertising.
- The refund. On December 5, 2024, the CFPB announced the return of $1.8 billion from its victims relief fund to 4.3 million Americans harmed in that scheme.
The version that circulates online adds a Chapter 11 bankruptcy and a permanent shutdown. Our record shows a 2023 CFPB action against parent Progrexion that briefly wound the firm down before it relaunched, and nothing beyond that. The firm operates today with a live site, a services page stating it challenges inaccuracies with all three major credit bureaus, and a published monthly rate, both pages captured September 15, 2026. Veterans and active military get 50% off the first payment. Billing is an automatic monthly draft, prepaid cards are refused, and a declined payment adds a processing fee.
Who Needs a Credit Dispute Tool at All
The Federal Trade Commission’s credit report accuracy study found that 1 in 5 consumers had an error on at least one of their three credit reports, and that 5% had an error serious enough to raise the price they pay for credit. An error is not a filing problem. It raises the rate on a car loan and sinks mortgage applications months before anyone thinks to check.
In CreditRefresh’s September 18, 2026 analysis of paying-member data, 97.7% of paying members have at least one negative tradeline entry, and the average member carries 30 across the bureaus, with a median of 25. Those are bureau-level entries, so the same account can appear more than once, and a negative entry is not automatically inaccurate or disputable. Lexington Law’s own positioning is aimed at the same reader from the other side, described as best for people who want a law firm to handle everything. As Rory D. put it in a 5-star Trustpilot review of CreditRefresh on September 20, 2026: “Quick and easy . Very efficient way to dispute errors on credit report . Found errors that I was unaware of in a very short time”.
Why Use a Dispute Tool Instead of Writing the Letters Yourself
The right to dispute a credit report error has been federal law since 1970 under the FCRA, and exercising it costs nothing. The right was never the hard part. The hard part is reading three reports, working out which of the four categories each item falls into, drafting a separate letter per item, mailing them, and tracking each one against the roughly 30-day investigation window.
The volume is what breaks people. Mailed dispute rounds in the same September 18, 2026 extract average 23.6 disputed bureau-level items. That is 23.6 letters to write, send and follow. Lexington Law’s answer is to take the file off your desk entirely, with no self-serve dispute tool and no phone guidance until you are a client. CreditRefresh’s answer is to draft all of them for you and put each one in front of you for review and signature before anything is mailed.
What Users Say Goes Wrong With These Tools
Most readers arrive having already paid for something. Lexington Law holds a Trustpilot score of 3.2 from 624 reviews, with 26% at one star, as published on September 24, 2026. Within its latest 200 reviews, 134 sit at one or two stars. The most common theme is paying for months with nothing changing, in 79 of those 134. Billing that continued or refunds refused accounts for 33 of 134, and fees the customer did not expect for 19 of 134.
“I canceled the service, yet they charged me again after the cancellation.” (Abeer A., 1 star, September 18, 2026). “Their policy read they would initially charge $14.95 but $99 was withdrawn from my account.” (Jennifer C., 1 star, March 20, 2024).
The pattern is not unique to one firm. Credit Karma holds a 1.1 from 912 reviews and files disputes with TransUnion only. Credit Saint holds a 3.6 from 764 reviews, where paying for months with nothing changing appears in 36 of the 57 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 200. The Credit People holds a 1.7 from 17 reviews. Dispute Beast holds a 4.2 from 2,067 reviews, and among the 33 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 200, the leading complaint is the same one, in 19 of 33. Charles Winslow, in a 2-star Trustpilot review of Dispute Beast on September 6, 2026, wrote:
"I was told too often that in 90 days I would see major results. Instead I get letters from the credit beaurus saying they never got the disputes!!!! And the results show that!!!!!You have taken over $300 from me and it seems that I have waisted my money!"
CreditRefresh holds a 4.3 from 9 reviews, with 0% at one star, as published on September 24, 2026.
The Regulators' Record, and the Name on Your Paperwork
The credit repair industry has been fined repeatedly for selling outcomes it did not deliver. On August 10, 2026, the FTC brought a $200 million action against Credit Glory LLC and Alexander Brola over false and misleading promises, impersonating debt collectors and creditors, collecting illegal upfront fees, and enrolling consumers in unlawful recurring subscriptions. On September 30, 2024, the CFPB brought a $41.3 million action against Commonwealth Equity Group, LLC, doing business as Key Credit Repair, over charging advance fees before achieving durable results and misrepresenting its ability to remove negative items. On January 23, 2023, the FTC finalized a $3 million order against Credit Karma, LLC over dark patterns that misrepresented pre-approval for credit card offers.
There is a wrinkle worth knowing before you go checking any of this yourself. Searching “Lexington Law” in the CFPB’s public Consumer Complaint Database returns zero results, because its complaints are recorded in the CFPB’s public Consumer Complaint Database under John C. Heath, Attorney at Law, PLLC, which carries 781 complaints under the credit repair services sub-product over the three years to September 10, 2026. Complaints are unverified consumer allegations, and a high count tracks company size as well as conduct.
What to Look For in Any Credit Dispute Tool
- What the price includes. CreditRefresh is $49.99 a month, with no setup fee and no per-dispute charge; the only optional cost is a small per-letter fee if RushMail prints and mails a round for you. Lexington Law is $139.95 a month, invoiced at the end of each service period for completed work, with a processing fee on a declined payment.
- Whether you see every letter. CreditRefresh shows every dispute and requires your review and signature before anything is sent. Lexington Law does not show clients the letters; the process is done-for-you.
- All three bureaus. Both dispute with Equifax, Experian and TransUnion. Credit Karma, by contrast, files with TransUnion alone.
- Letters specific to each item. CreditRefresh drafts a tailored, print-ready letter per flagged item and cites the specific FCRA right it stands on. Lexington Law’s attorneys and paralegals build the case for you, and the approach is not shown before you pay.
- Tracking against the deadline. CreditRefresh records every letter and the date it went out, and tracks bureau responses against the roughly 30-day window. Lexington Law’s client-side tracking detail is not stated on its published pages.
- Contract. CreditRefresh has none and members cancel anytime. Lexington Law bills as an automatic monthly draft and refuses prepaid cards.
- What users say. Read the one- and two-star reviews before the five-star ones, and look at what the complaints are actually about.
Choose CreditRefresh or Lexington Law
| Choose CreditRefresh if you want… | Choose Lexington Law if you want… |
|---|---|
| To see and sign every letter before it is mailed | Someone else to work the file without showing you the letters |
| A flat $49.99 a month, no setup fee, cancel anytime | A firm on retainer at $139.95 a month, invoiced in arrears |
| To start in minutes with nothing to learn | A free assessment followed by attorney case setup |
| To keep the money with the person whose report it is | Licensed attorneys and paralegals on your case |
CreditRefresh at a Glance
- Price: $49.99 a month, included with Refresh Monitoring. No setup fee, no per-dispute charge, no contract.
- What it does: Scans all three bureau reports and flags items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to be reported, then drafts an FCRA letter for each one you choose to challenge.
- Your control: Every dispute is shown and requires your review and signature before it is sent.
- Bureaus: Equifax, Experian and TransUnion.
- Mailing: Mail letters yourself at no cost, or hand a round to the affiliated partner RushMail for a small per-letter fee.
- Tracking: Records every letter and its mail date, and tracks bureau responses against the roughly 30-day FCRA window.
- Extras: A debt-collector directory built on CFPB complaint data, a 117-article help center, and an AI assistant that cites the FCRA.
- Contract: None. Cancel anytime. A 100% money-back guarantee applies to members who work the full program.
- Trustpilot: 4.3 from 9 reviews.
Lexington Law at a Glance
- Price: $139.95 a month, invoiced at the end of each service period for completed work, per its FAQ page captured September 15, 2026. Veterans and active military get 50% off the first payment.
- What it does: An attorney-backed firm that challenges inaccuracies and discrepancies on your reports on your behalf, with direct bureau and FICO API links.
- Your control: Done-for-you. No self-serve dispute tool, and letters are not shown to the client.
- Bureaus: All three, per its services page captured September 15, 2026.
- Setup: Free assessment, then attorney case setup. No phone guidance until you are a client.
- Extras: Four USPTO patents and $1 million identity-theft insurance.
- Contract: Billing is an automatic monthly draft; prepaid cards are refused and a declined payment adds a processing fee.
- Trustpilot: 3.2 from 624 reviews.
How CreditRefresh and Lexington Law Compare
| CreditRefresh | Lexington Law | |
|---|---|---|
| You see and sign every letter before it is mailed | ✅ | ❌ Letters not shown |
| Self-serve dispute tool, nothing to learn | ✅ | ❌ No self-serve tool |
| Flat monthly price, no setup fee, cancel anytime | ✅ $49.99 | ❌ $139.95, automatic monthly draft |
| Rate published on the pricing page | ✅ | ❌ Rate appears on the FAQ; the pricing page carries none |
| Guidance available before you pay | ✅ Help center and AI assistant | ❌ No phone guidance until you are a client |
| Mail the round yourself at no cost | ✅ | Not stated |
| Tracking against the roughly 30-day window, visible to you | ✅ | Not stated |
| Licensed attorneys and paralegals on the case | ❌ | ✅ |
| $1 million identity-theft insurance | ❌ | ✅ |
| Disputes with all three bureaus | ✅ | ✅ |
Prices and capability cells are each company’s own published pages, read on September 15, 2026. Trustpilot scores and review counts as published on September 24, 2026.
Pros and Cons
CreditRefresh
- Pro, fast to start: “I loved how simple it was, it took me like 5 minutes to use. Super helpful scanning my report for mistakes!” (Kelly K., 5 stars, September 23, 2026).
- Pro, transparent: Every letter is shown, signed and logged, and the price is published before you hand over a card.
- Con, new and small: Launched in 2026 with roughly 100 subscribers, so the track record is short.
- Con, the second round: The second dispute round is not yet well guided, and the founder names it the current weak point.
- Con, bundled: The dispute tool is not sold on its own; it requires an active Refresh Monitoring subscription.
- Trustpilot: 4.3 from 9 reviews.
Lexington Law
- Pro, staffed: “I am a returning client with Lexington Law and I have gotten good professionalism from the paralegal reps and how explained in detail how each step would go with my credit repair.” (Marlon B., 5 stars, May 6, 2026).
- Pro, long-running: “they treat me with respect and answer all of my questions I will stay with them for now” (Lisa P., 5 stars, September 16, 2026).
- Con, results: Paying for months with nothing changing appears in 79 of the 134 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 200. “still charging me for not doing anything” (Manuel G., 2 stars, September 9, 2026).
- Con, billing: Billing that continued or refunds refused appears in 33 of those 134.
- Con, reachability: Nobody answers appears in 18 of those 134. “never got to talk to a person!” (c B., 1 star, November 27, 2024).
- Trustpilot: 3.2 from 624 reviews.
Pricing
- CreditRefresh, monthly: $49.99, including the dispute tool and Refresh Monitoring. No setup fee, no per-dispute charge, no contract.
- CreditRefresh, mailing: Free if you mail the round yourself. A small per-letter fee if RushMail prints and mails it.
- CreditRefresh, guarantee: Members who work the full program and never see any of their three bureau scores rise above enrollment can reclaim 100% of their Refresh Monitoring payments, typically $650 to $700. RushMail fees are billed separately and are not refunded.
- Lexington Law, monthly: $139.95, invoiced at the end of each service period for completed work.
- Lexington Law, military discount: 50% off the first payment for veterans and active military.
- Lexington Law, payment terms: Major credit card, debit card or verified bank account. Prepaid cards refused. A declined payment adds a processing fee.
Verdict by Situation
- You have a handful of items you can point to as wrong: CreditRefresh. You see the flagged item and the letter that challenges it.
- You want no involvement at all and can carry $139.95 a month: Lexington Law. That is what the price buys.
- You have been billed after cancelling somewhere before: CreditRefresh. No contract, cancel anytime, and the price is on the page.
- You want an attorney’s name on the correspondence: Lexington Law. CreditRefresh is software, not a law firm.
- You are choosing between hiring someone and doing nothing: Either beats nothing, but check the price on the page before you hand over a card.
How to Decide
- Do you want to read the letter before it goes out? If yes, CreditRefresh. If you would rather never see it, Lexington Law.
- What is $90 a month worth to you? That is the gap between the two. If the difference matters to your budget, CreditRefresh.
- Do you need a licensed attorney involved? If the answer is genuinely yes, Lexington Law is the firm in this comparison. If what you actually need is 23 letters drafted and tracked, that is software work.
Skip the paperwork. Lock in your spot.
CreditRefresh drafts your FCRA dispute letter and tracks the 30-day investigation window. You review, approve, and send. You stay in control.
Lock in your spotThe story that the biggest, oldest, most expensive name is the safe choice is the one worth retiring here. Lexington Law is open and operating, and its price and its complaint record are both on public pages you can read in five minutes.
Six Tools, and What Each Does With Your Dispute
The decision here comes down to who drafts the letter, who signs it, and what that costs every month. Here is where these two sit against the rest of the market.
| Tool | What you pay | What that buys | Bureaus | Trustpilot |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CreditRefresh | $49.99/mo, no setup fee, cancel anytime. Mail letters yourself free, or pay RushMail per letter | AI scan of all three reports, a drafted FCRA letter per flagged item, and your signature on each one before it is mailed | All three | 4.3 (9 reviews) |
| Dispute Beast | From $49.99/mo for required monitoring. Mail letters yourself free, or pay Sprint Mail per letter | AI-generated dispute rounds with mailing handled through a partner | All three | 4.2 (2,067 reviews) |
| DisputeBee | $49/mo personal, $129/mo business | Dispute letter software built for self-managed rounds and agency use | All three | 3.2 (68 reviews) |
| The Credit People | $99/mo standard, $119/mo premium, or $599 for 6 months | Done-for-you dispute service on a monthly or prepaid six-month plan | All three | 1.7 (17 reviews) |
| Lexington Law | $139.95/mo, invoiced at the end of each service period | A law firm that challenges items on your behalf, without showing you the letters | All three | 3.2 (624 reviews) |
| Credit Karma | Free, paid for by lender referrals | Monitoring and score tracking, with disputes filed at one bureau | TransUnion | 1.1 (912 reviews) |
Every price is that company’s own published rate, read off that company’s own site on September 15, 2026. Trustpilot scores and review counts as published on September 24, 2026.
How CreditRefresh Turns a Flagged Item Into a Letter You Sign
The complaint that dominates this category is paying month after month without knowing what was sent. We built the opposite. In CreditRefresh’s September 18, 2026 member-data extract, 2.3% of disputed bureau-level items in mailed rounds had a recorded outcome, and within that subset, 47.9% were no longer reported on a newer pull of the same bureau. “No longer reported” is what follow-up monitoring observed on a later pull of the same bureau; the extract does not establish why an item changed, and the bureaus decide dispute outcomes.
The flow is three steps. The AI reads your Equifax, Experian and TransUnion reports through Refresh Monitoring, flags items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to be legally reported, and drafts a print-ready FCRA letter for each item you choose to challenge, citing the specific right it stands on. You review and sign. Then you mail the round yourself at no cost, or hand it to RushMail for a small per-letter fee, and the tool logs each letter and watches the roughly 30-day investigation window.
That is $49.99 a month with no setup fee, no per-dispute charge and no contract, against the $79 to $139 a month plus setup that traditional firms charge. Members who work the full program and never see any of their three bureau scores rise above enrollment can reclaim 100% of what they paid. It refunds money. It does not promise a score.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Lexington Law out of business?
No. A 2023 CFPB action against its parent Progrexion briefly wound the firm down before it relaunched. It operates today, with a services page stating it challenges inaccuracies with all three major credit bureaus and a rate of $139.95 a month on its FAQ, both captured September 15, 2026.
Did Lexington Law file for bankruptcy?
Our record does not show one. What the record shows is the 2019 CFPB action against PGX Holdings and Progrexion Marketing, the $2.7 billion settlement announced August 28, 2023, and the brief wind-down before relaunch.
What was the $1.8 billion refund?
On December 5, 2024, the CFPB announced the return of $1.8 billion from its victims relief fund to 4.3 million Americans charged illegal advance fees and subjected to deceptive bait-and-switch advertising by the credit repair conglomerate.
Is CreditRefresh a credit repair company?
No. It is software you control, included with the $49.99-a-month Refresh Monitoring subscription. It drafts the letters and shows you each one; nothing is sent without your review and signature.
Can either service remove accurate negative information?
No. Neither can, and no service can. A dispute challenges items that are inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or past the reporting period, generally seven years for most negative items and ten for a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. The bureaus decide what happens next.
Can I do all of this myself for free?
Yes. The FCRA has given you that right since 1970 and it costs nothing to use. What costs something is reading three reports, drafting a letter per item, mailing them and tracking each one; mailed rounds in our member data average 23.6 disputed bureau-level items.
CreditRefresh is software, not a law firm and not a credit repair organization, and nothing here is legal advice. Dispute outcomes are determined by the credit bureaus and the furnishers of the information.
CreditRefresh scans all three of your credit reports, drafts an FCRA dispute letter for every item that looks inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to report, and puts each one in front of you to sign before it is mailed, for $49.99 a month.




