You found an error on your credit report, and Credit Karma put a Dispute button right next to it. It is free, it is already on your phone, and it goes to the one bureau Credit Karma is showing you. The question nobody asks in that moment is what the other two bureaus are reporting about the same account.

That question matters because lenders rarely pull one report. A mortgage underwriter takes the middle of three, and an auto lender often pulls whichever bureau its dealer group subscribes to.

The Short Answer

Choose Credit Karma Direct Dispute if the error is clear-cut, you have confirmed it appears on your TransUnion report, and you want a free way to flag it without paying for anything.

Choose CreditRefresh if you have items on more than one report, or you do not yet know which bureaus carry the mistake, and you want a written FCRA letter drafted for each item at all three bureaus.

Credit Karma is Intuit-owned free credit monitoring and a lender marketplace with 140 million-plus members, and Direct Dispute is a button inside that app. CreditRefresh is AI credit-dispute software from Credit Refresh LLC that reads your three reports, flags items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to be reported, and drafts a print-ready FCRA letter for each one. It is sometimes described as a $49-a-month credit-repair service; the accurate description is software you control, included at no additional cost with Refresh Monitoring, a $49.99-a-month credit-monitoring subscription with no setup fee, no per-dispute charge and no contract.

Who Needs a Credit Dispute Tool

You need one if there is something on a credit report that does not belong to you, is out of date, or reports the wrong balance or status. The FTC’s credit-report accuracy study found that 1 in 5 consumers had an error on at least one of their three credit reports, and that 5% had an error serious enough to raise the price they pay for credit.

Note the phrasing in that finding. At least one of three. An error that lives only on Experian is invisible inside a TransUnion dispute, and it is still sitting there when a lender pulls it.

The people who pay for CreditRefresh arrive with a lot on the file. In CreditRefresh’s September 18, 2026 analysis of paying-member data, 97.7% of paying members have at least one negative tradeline entry, and the average member carries 30 across the bureaus, with a median of 25. Those are bureau-level entries about paying members, so the same account can appear more than once, and a negative entry is not automatically inaccurate.

Credit Karma serves the earlier moment well. It is free, it shows you a score and flags changes, and for most people it is the first place they learn something is wrong. One CreditRefresh member described the next step: “Quick and easy . Very efficient way to dispute errors on credit report . Found errors that I was unaware of in a very short time” (Rory D., 5-star Trustpilot review, September 20, 2026).

Why Use a Dispute Tool Instead of Writing the Letters Yourself

Nothing here is a service you are legally required to buy. The right to dispute a credit-report error has been federal law since 1970 under the FCRA, and writing to a bureau yourself costs a stamp. The work is the reason people do not do it: reading three reports side by side, deciding which of the four dispute categories an item falls under, drafting a separate letter per item, mailing them, and tracking the roughly 30-day investigation window per bureau.

The volume is what breaks people. Mailed dispute rounds average 23.6 disputed bureau-level items, per CreditRefresh’s September 18, 2026 member-data extract. That is 23.6 separate arguments to write and track, which is the point at which most people either give up or hand a credit card to a firm charging $79 to $139 a month.

Handing it to a firm is where the industry’s record starts. On August 28, 2023 the CFPB reached a $2.7 billion settlement with Progrexion Marketing, Inc. and PGX Holdings, Inc., the parent companies behind Lexington Law and CreditRepair.com, over collecting illegal advance fees for telemarketed credit repair and deceptive bait-and-switch advertising. On December 5, 2024 the CFPB announced the return of $1.8 billion from its victims relief fund to consumers charged those fees. On August 10, 2026 the FTC shut down Credit Glory LLC and Alexander Brola over roughly $200 million in false credit-repair promises, illegal upfront fees and unlawful recurring subscriptions.

The pattern shows up in reviews too. Lexington Law holds a Trustpilot score of 3.2 from 624 reviews, and in its latest 200 reviews, 79 of the 134 rated one or two stars say they paid for months and nothing changed. The Credit People holds 1.7 from 17 reviews. Dispute Beast holds 4.2 from 2,067 reviews, with 19 of the 33 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 200 making the same complaint. Recorded in the CFPB’s public Consumer Complaint Database over the three years to September 10, 2026, the leading issue among firm-named credit repair complaints is “Didn’t provide services promised,” at 871 of 2,786.

Software is the third option. You keep the money, you keep the signature, and the tedious part is done for you.

What to Look For in Any Credit Dispute Tool

  • What the price includes. CreditRefresh is included with Refresh Monitoring at $49.99 a month, with no setup fee, no per-dispute charge and no contract; the only optional cost is a small per-letter fee if you have the affiliated partner RushMail print and mail a round. Credit Karma Direct Dispute is free, paid for by lender referrals and ads.
  • Whether you see every letter. CreditRefresh shows you each drafted letter, and nothing goes out without your review and signature. Direct Dispute has no letter to read; you flag the item inside the dashboard and Credit Karma passes the dispute to the bureau.
  • All three bureaus. CreditRefresh drafts letters for Equifax, Experian and TransUnion. Direct Dispute works with TransUnion only.
  • Letters specific to each item. CreditRefresh drafts a tailored letter per flagged item and cites the FCRA right that letter stands on. Credit Karma’s flow is a form submission rather than a written argument per item.
  • Tracking against the deadline. CreditRefresh records every letter, the date it went out, and the bureaus' responses against the roughly 30-day window. Credit Karma’s published pages do not describe per-letter deadline tracking.
  • Contract. Both let you leave. CreditRefresh is cancel anytime, and Credit Karma is free with nothing to cancel.
  • What users say. CreditRefresh holds a Trustpilot score of 4.3 from 9 reviews, with 0% at one star. Credit Karma holds 1.1 from 912 reviews, with 72% at one star.

Choose CreditRefresh or Credit Karma Direct Dispute

Choose CreditRefresh if you want…Choose Credit Karma Direct Dispute if you want…
Letters drafted for all three bureaus, because you do not know which ones carry the errorA free fix for an error you have already confirmed on TransUnion
A written FCRA argument per item that you read and signA single button press with nothing to draft or mail
A record of every letter sent and the response window it is running againstTo spend nothing at all
One monthly price with no setup fee and no contractScore monitoring and lender offers as the main product

CreditRefresh at a Glance

  • Price: $49.99 a month for Refresh Monitoring, which includes CreditRefresh. No setup fee, no per-dispute charge.
  • What it does: Scans all three bureau reports (credit data via Array) and flags items that look inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to be reported, then drafts a print-ready FCRA letter for each one you choose to challenge.
  • Your control: Every letter is reviewed and signed by you before anything is sent. It is software you operate, and it is not a credit-repair agency acting on your behalf.
  • Bureaus: Equifax, Experian and TransUnion.
  • Mailing: Mail the round yourself, or hand it to the affiliated partner RushMail for a small per-letter fee.
  • Tracking: Records each letter and its mailing date, and tracks bureau responses against the roughly 30-day investigation window.
  • Extras: A debt-collector directory profiling 25-plus collectors with CFPB complaint counts, a 117-article help center with an AI assistant that cites the FCRA, and a 100% money-back guarantee for members who work the full program.
  • Contract: None. Cancel anytime.
  • Trustpilot: 4.3 from 9 reviews, 0% at one star, as published September 24, 2026.

Credit Karma Direct Dispute at a Glance

  • Price: Free. Credit Karma is monetized through lender referrals and ads.
  • What it does: Shows your score and report and lets you flag an error from inside the dashboard, and Credit Karma communicates the dispute to the bureau.
  • Your control: No letter is drafted for you to read or sign.
  • Bureaus: TransUnion.
  • Mailing: None. The dispute is submitted in-app.
  • Tracking: Not described on its published pages as per-letter deadline tracking.
  • Extras: Free credit monitoring, Approval Odds, Credit Spark bill reporting, tax filing, banking, and a lender marketplace across 140 million-plus members.
  • Contract: None.
  • Trustpilot: 1.1 from 912 reviews, 72% at one star, as published September 24, 2026.

How CreditRefresh and Credit Karma Direct Dispute Compare

CreditRefreshCredit Karma Direct Dispute
Free to use❌ $49.99/mo with Refresh Monitoring✅
Dispute letters for all three bureaus✅❌ TransUnion only
Scans all three reports for disputable items✅❌ Monitoring alerts only
Drafts a letter per item citing the FCRA✅❌
You read and sign before anything is sent✅❌ No letter to review
Shows you every dispute on file✅Not stated
Tracks letters against the roughly 30-day window✅Not stated
Mailing handled for you, optional per-letter fee✅ RushMail❌
Credit monitoring included✅✅
No contract, cancel anytime✅✅
Lender offers and marketplace❌✅

Every price is that company’s own published rate, read off that company’s own site on September 15, 2026. Trustpilot scores and review counts as published on September 24, 2026.

Pros and Cons

CreditRefresh

  • Pro, nothing to learn: “I loved how simple it was, it took me like 5 minutes to use. Super helpful scanning my report for mistakes!” (Kelly K., 5-star Trustpilot review, September 23, 2026).
  • Pro, real support: “The response time to my questions were very rapid and filled with complete/specific detailed instructions (not coined nor "auto-reply")” (Jean L., 5-star Trustpilot review, August 24, 2026).
  • Pro, flat price: $49.99 a month with no setup fee, no per-dispute charge and no contract.
  • Con, new and small: Launched in 2026 with about 100 subscribers, so the track record is short.
  • Con, the second round is the weak spot: The follow-up round after 30-plus days is not yet well guided, and our founder names it the current gap.
  • Con, bundled: The dispute tool requires an active Refresh Monitoring subscription and is not sold on its own.
  • Con, wrong fit for some files: It does nothing for a thin or empty credit file, an already-strong score, or debts that are accurate.
  • Trustpilot: 4.3 from 9 reviews.

Credit Karma Direct Dispute

  • Pro, free and already there: No card, no plan, no cancellation. “I have been using them for almost 10 years now and have never had an issue with the website, app, services, or anything” (Victoria, 5-star Trustpilot review, November 11, 2025).
  • Pro, one place for score and alerts: Monitoring and score tracking for 140 million-plus members.
  • Con, offers that do not land: Promised a result that did not happen is the top complaint theme, at 43 of the 197 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 200. “They keep sending alerts for lower auto interest rates! Jump through all the hoops and it’s no where what they post!!” (mark S., 1-star Trustpilot review, July 7, 2026).
  • Con, nobody answers: 34 of the 197 one- and two-star reviews in its latest 200 say support is unreachable. “You cannot get ahold of a human being at this company.” (Conqueso S., 1-star Trustpilot review, September 24, 2026).
  • Con, disputes on the money side too: Orenda Philmore, in a 1-star Trustpilot review of Credit Karma on June 25, 2026, wrote: “Credit Karma is a horrible banking system. They continue to double charge me for payments I’ve Made and I’m constantly having to make disputes.”
  • Con, the business model: The product refers you to lenders, and on January 23, 2023 the FTC finalized a $3 million order against Credit Karma, LLC over dark patterns that misrepresented that consumers were pre-approved for credit card offers when many were ultimately denied.
  • Trustpilot: 1.1 from 912 reviews.

Pricing

  • CreditRefresh, Refresh Monitoring: $49.99 a month, includes the dispute tool, no setup fee, no per-dispute charge, no contract.
  • CreditRefresh, RushMail: A small per-letter fee, only if you want a round printed and mailed for you. Mailing it yourself costs postage.
  • CreditRefresh, guarantee: Members who work the full program and never see any of their three bureau scores rise above enrollment can reclaim 100% of their Refresh Monitoring payments, typically $650 to $700. It is a refund promise and carries no score-outcome promise; RushMail fees are billed separately and are not refunded.
  • Credit Karma: Free, including Direct Dispute. Revenue comes from lender referrals and ads.
  • Traditional credit-repair firms, for context: Commonly $79 to $139 a month plus a setup fee.

Verdict by Situation

  • You spotted one wrong late payment and confirmed it is on TransUnion: Direct Dispute, and it costs nothing.
  • You have not checked Equifax and Experian: Pull all three first. If the item is on more than one, CreditRefresh.
  • You are applying for a mortgage and the middle score is what counts: CreditRefresh, because a one-bureau fix may leave the middle score untouched.
  • You have a long list of items rather than one: CreditRefresh. Mailed rounds average 23.6 disputed bureau-level items, and a per-item letter is a different job from a single button.
  • You want a record of what was sent and when: CreditRefresh logs every letter against the roughly 30-day window.
  • You want free monitoring and lender offers and nothing else: Credit Karma, and keep it even if you also subscribe elsewhere.

How to Decide

  1. Have you pulled all three reports? If no, do that before anything. If the error sits on one bureau and that bureau is TransUnion, Direct Dispute handles it free.
  2. Is it one item or many? One clean item, use the free button. A list, and you want letters drafted per item at all three bureaus, which is CreditRefresh.
  3. Do you want to see what is being argued on your behalf? If seeing and signing each letter matters, CreditRefresh. If a submitted form is enough, Credit Karma.

Six Tools, Priced Against the Bureaus They Actually Reach

The choice here turns on reach and on what you get for the money. A free tool that touches one bureau and a paid tool that drafts letters for three are answering different questions, and the paid tier itself runs from $49 to $139.95 a month.

ToolWhat you payWhat that buysBureausTrustpilot
CreditRefresh$49.99/mo, no setup fee, cancel anytime. Mail letters yourself free, or pay RushMail per letterAn AI scan of all three reports and a separate FCRA letter per flagged item, which you sign, plus monitoringAll three4.3 (9 reviews)
Dispute BeastFrom $49.99/mo for required monitoring. Mail letters yourself free, or pay Sprint Mail per letterAI-drafted dispute letters, with the monitoring subscription required to use themAll three4.2 (2,067 reviews)
DisputeBee$49/mo personal, $129/mo businessDispute-letter software you run yourself, with a business tier for working other people’s filesAll three3.2 (68 reviews)
The Credit People$99/mo standard, $119/mo premium, or $599 for 6 monthsA staffed service working your three reports on your behalfAll three1.7 (17 reviews)
Lexington Law$139.95/mo, invoiced at the end of each service periodA law-firm-branded credit repair service billed in arrearsAll three3.2 (624 reviews)
Credit KarmaFree, paid for by lender referralsMonitoring, score alerts and a TransUnion dispute button, with no letters drafted or mailedTransUnion1.1 (912 reviews)

Skip the paperwork. Lock in your spot.

CreditRefresh drafts your FCRA dispute letter and tracks the 30-day investigation window. You review, approve, and send. You stay in control.

Lock in your spot

Every price is that company’s own published rate, read off that company’s own site on September 15, 2026. Trustpilot scores and review counts as published on September 24, 2026.

How CreditRefresh Drafts a Letter for Each Bureau That Carries the Item

The one-bureau problem is measurable in our own members' files. In CreditRefresh’s analysis of paying-member data, 56.6% of analyzed members had a gap of more than 20 points between their highest and lowest bureau scores, the median gap was 23.5 points, and 19.1% had a gap above 50 points. That measures how far reported scores differ across bureaus, and it is the reason a dispute aimed at one report can leave the file a lender pulls unchanged.

So the scan reads all three. It flags what looks inaccurate, incomplete, unverifiable or too old to be reported, drafts a print-ready letter per item with the FCRA right that letter stands on, and puts it in front of you to review and sign. You mail the round yourself or hand it to RushMail for a per-letter fee. Every letter and its date is logged, and responses are tracked against the roughly 30-day investigation window. In CreditRefresh’s September 18, 2026 member-data extract, 2.3% of disputed bureau-level items in mailed rounds had a recorded outcome, and within that subset 47.9% were no longer reported on a newer pull of the same bureau.

The price is the whole price. $49.99 a month for Refresh Monitoring with the dispute tool included, no setup fee, no per-dispute charge, and nothing to cancel out of. We do not decide what to send. You do.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is CreditRefresh $49 a month as a standalone repair service?

No. CreditRefresh is included at no additional cost with Refresh Monitoring, a $49.99-a-month credit-monitoring subscription, with no setup fee, no per-dispute charge and no contract. The dispute tool is not sold separately.

Does Credit Karma Direct Dispute cover all three bureaus?

It works with TransUnion. Equifax and Experian errors are outside what the in-app dispute tool reaches, which is why an error confirmed on only one of your three reports is the case where the free tool fits best.

Does CreditRefresh submit disputes automatically?

No. Every letter is reviewed and signed by you before anything leaves. You mail the round yourself, or hand it to the affiliated partner RushMail for a small per-letter fee.

Is CreditRefresh a credit-repair agency?

No. It is software you operate, from Credit Refresh LLC. We draft the letters and track the responses, and you decide which items to challenge and sign each letter.

Can I use both?

Yes, and many people should. Credit Karma is free monitoring, so keep the alerts. Use it to see a problem, then pull all three reports to find out how many bureaus are reporting it.

What can a dispute actually change?

The bureaus run the investigation and decide the result under the FCRA, generally within about 30 days. Accurate information stays on the report, and most negative items fall off on their own after seven years, or ten for a Chapter 7 bankruptcy.

CreditRefresh is software for disputing credit-report errors under the FCRA. Dispute outcomes are determined by the credit bureaus and the furnishers they contact, and accurate information cannot be removed.

CreditRefresh reads all three of your bureau reports and drafts a separate FCRA dispute letter for each item you choose to challenge, which you review and sign before it is mailed.

Find out which bureaus are carrying your error →